Review: 50/50

I love a good movie. You all know that. 50/50 is one of them.

50/50

Sits on your chest and forces you to feel something.

You may be aware that my family has dealt with some health issues in the past, and it’s been just over 2 years since my Dad died from his own bout with the cancer, so this movie struck a chord with me. I thought going into it that, ya know, maybe there would be a bit of emotional baggage for me, and yeah…there was a little bit. It was also interesting how some of the dynamics in the family play out, and with his girlfriend situation, because in a lot of ways, it’s very similar to some things I’ve gone through in the past.

My own experience with cancer allowed this movie to get its hooks into me really early, and I ended up pretty emotionally invested. Of course, it also had a lot to do with the cast. I’ve always found Joseph Gordon-Levitt to be a bit too wooden, a bit too…robotic…in his craft, and he was exactly like his usual self for a good portion of this movie; he had his little squinty eyes working, and he gave his wincing smile, and was the exact same character as he was in (500) Days of Summer…but then, towards the climax of the film, the gravity of his situation hits him, nd he finally unleashes and shows a little PASSION. He’s really great in 50/50. Not Oscar-worthy, but he’s really good. Seth Rogen plays Seth Rogen, unsurprisingly, but he works really well here as the best-friend-who-you-think-is-kind-of-a-douche-but-it-turns-out-he’s-not. Angelica Huston also turns in a great performance as my mom, but the real start of 50/50…and of my heart…is Anna Kendrick.

She’s so incredibly…GENUINE. She’s the polar opposite of Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character: he’s ice cold, but she’s warm and inviting. She oozes enthusiasm, she smiles constantly, her car is a mess, and she tries to run her therapy sessions like she’s reading from a textbook, but in her own little mini-character arc, she cuts loose and even cracks some jokes at the end. I just…I love her. Can’t get enough. I totally forgot how much I was crushin’ on her after her GREAT performance in Up In The Air, but now it’s back.

Plus, she is cute as a damn button.

This movie could’ve been very pedestrian and predictable, but with a great cast, small plot points that keep surprising you, and an overall story that can really make you feel good about the world we live in, 50/50 elevates itself to the area somewhere around “pretty damn great.” See it soon if you get a chance.

Oh, and once again, I had to turn around and tell the obnoxious bitch behind me to shut up. Specifically, I said, “Are you going to do this during the entire film?” and she said, “Do what?” with a sassy-bitch attitude, and I said, “Be loud…and obnoxious? Please don’t.”

Didn’t hear much out of her after that. I swear…these fucking Arizona people are HORRIBLE in theaters.

Leave a Reply

