Snowzona

We knew it was going to snow in the Flagstaff area, but I didn’t know it was coming so soon. When I left the hotel to head to work this morning, I was greeted by a crisp morning breeze, and I was thankful that I ordered my new jacket last week. Sometimes it makes me look like Indiana Jones:

Anyways, on the Northern Arizona University campus, I came around a corner to find this:

Closer…

Closer…

Nice.

It didn’t snow in the town proper, but it was around 55 degrees and windy. I was disappointed, and wanted to get up on that mountain, so after work, I headed up to the Arizona Snowbowl.

The sun was already behind the mountains to the west, and on the way up the Humphrey’s Peak, deep in the forest, it was very, very dark. The switchbacks were intense, and as I neared the top of the mountain, ice started to appear on the side of the road. The thermometer on my dashboard dropped and dropped, and within 15 minutes, the temperature had dropped from about 55 degrees to 27. As I rounded one curve, three deer, a doe and her two fawns, were slowly crossing the road, their exhalations visible in the air. Very surreal. It was too dark for my camera(phone) to grab a good picture, but the eyes of the doe reflected the light from my flash.

As I climbed higher on the mountain, I finally crossed a high enough elevation so that the tops of the trees became golden, and when I finally got as far as I could go, I stopped the car on the slope of the mountain, and with the car sitting on ice, I put the E-brake on and got out. I was on the west side of the mountain, and looking out towards the sunrise.


Epic.

And just so you ain’t think I lying…

ARIZONA?? MORE LIKE SNOWZONA!!!

What was it like in Texas today?

5 responses

  1. David

    85-90 and partly cloudy. It was actually a pretty nice day.

    October 7, 2011 at 9:31 am

  2. Paula Coots

    It was hot here, I took the neighbor kid (JD, who loves me) on a long bike ride down first and into the skate park. He loved it, it’s free and no gear required now. There were about 25 boys riding and they took him right in, and had him riding the little hills. It sure reminded me of when I use to take you and Clay bike riding around Blascke…..but he was way shakier, he needs wider sidewalks. My face was blood red when I got home……lol. I’m so glad you’re getting to experience an interesting life. You earned it baby. Stay warm, all my love. Momma Bear

    October 7, 2011 at 4:05 pm

  3. Garrison

    It was suuuuper humid today in CS. Thanks for asking.

    October 7, 2011 at 5:18 pm

  4. Nevin

    Idk how the weather was today. I was in a classroom with a bunch of punk Freshmen.

    October 7, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  5. The weather here was -29 and snowing… p.s. i like that jacket

    October 13, 2011 at 2:27 am

Leave a Reply

