The Sun Sets

Unprecedented.

That’s the word I would use to describe my Fantasy Baseball season. Not because of my success, but because of my failure. Not necessarily my team’s failure, but my failure as a General Manager. My team was average on the field, (we’ll finish with a 9-9 record) despite possibly having both the AL and NL MVP (Jacoby Ellsbury & Matt Kemp), and we had (at the time of this writing), the No. 2 overall pitcher (Halladay), the No. 4 overall 1st Baseman (M. Cabrera), the No. 5 overall 3rd Baseman (Youkilis), the No. 3 overall ShortStop (A. Cabrera), the No. 2 overall catcher (C. Santana), the Nos. 4, 5, & 7 Outfielders (Kemp, Ellsbury, and McCutchen), and the reigning AL MVP, Josh Hamilton.

Yes, despite all this firepower, The Osaka Sunrise will finish 9-9.

And really, it’s my fault. Not theirs. Sure, they were incredibly inconsistent, and yeah, we had a tomato can in our league that went like 1-16, which raised everyone’s win totals, which in turn made it harder to win my division, but hey…ultimately, it’s my fault. My Draft at the beginning of the year was just so-so, and despite some seemingly great trades, it was too little, too late.

I missed the playoffs by one game. Had I won this week, had I beaten Dylan Mahanay’s St. Paul’s Apostles, I would be in. But I lost, and I’m out.

This season is unprecedented because it’s the first time, in any Fantasy Sports League i’ve participated in, that I haven’t made the playoffs. Ouch.

Looks like the Sun has Set on Osaka.

Leave a Reply

