Top 10 Most-Anticipated Films Remaining in 2011

Back in January, I posted an entry called “My Top 10 Most-Anticipated Films of 2011.” As I scroll through the list now, I realize that every single one of them has been released already, and that I’ve seen all of them except one. So now, I’ll give each one of them a 10-word review to see if I hit or missed, and we’ll move on.

1. Thor: Like the tales of Vikings old, this movie is epic.
2. Captain America: The First Avenger: There are only three words to say: America, Fuck Yeah!
3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2: Epic and sad, yes. But somehow, i felt let down.
4. Sucker Punch: Please punch my balls again, because i like it more.
5. Super 8: Ahhh, nostalgia. My heart swelled, the lens flared, i smiled.
6: Kung-Fu Panda 2: “The cup you have chosen to fill is bottomless.” Epic.
7: The Tree of Life: Matt and I tried to catch it after work, failed.
8: Battle: Los Angeles: So wait…which aliens are these? Not Independence Day ones?
9: Cowboys & Aliens: “I don’t remember who I am.” Me either. Yawn City.
10: X-Men: First Class: Fassbender + McAvoy + The 60’s = The coolest X-Men since the cartoon.

Wow. That was fun. Maybe I’ll start doing 10-word reviews for everything I see.

Anyways, every single movie that was on that list is now come and gone, or fading rapidly, so I think it’s more than appropriate to create a new list, one to guide the sheep to the greenest of pastures.

Now, anybody who knows me knows that I’m huge into movies. I track them relentlessly, and I keep tabs on things that aren’t coming out for years. I’d consider myself an amateur movie critic, and also someone who hopes to maybe one day work in the industry. That said, I pay attention to the industry like it’s my job.

It’s unfortunate that most people don’t share this passion with me, but that’s ok…to each their own. But, I try to make my knowledge accessible to people who don’t follow the industry, so that they may make educated guesses about which films are going to be good, which will be bad, and which will be downright terrible. It’s my opinion that people should NOT go see films like “Mr. Popper’s Penguins” or “Transformers 3” (even though I DID see that last one), because if you give the producers your money, you’re telling them, “Yes, please make more trash like this.” Your dollars are your votes, and I’d like to help people vote for quality films, so that in the future, we have a golden age of cinema where everything is amazing and nothing sucks.

That’ll never happen though, but hey…i tried.

Without further ado, here are my

Top 10 Most-Anticipated Movies Remaining in 2011!

1. Moneyball

 

Based on the book of the same title by Michael Lewis, Moneyball is the true story of Oakland A’s General Manager Billy Beane, and how he revolutionized professional Baseball using a non-traditional way of scouting players. The film has an unusual pedigree for a sports movie, with Brad Pitt starring and Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Jonah Hill supporting him. Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network) wrote the screenplay, and it’s directed by Academy Award-nominated director Bennett Miller. Wow. I’m thinking this is the front-runner for the Best Film of the Year right now, and I think a lot of people are going to agree with me. With Brad Pitt, baseball, baseball statistics, and a Friday Night Lights-feel, this movie is right in my wheelhouse. And that one-sheet poster? Jeeeeez. Frame-worthy.

Release Date: September 23

 

2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

 

The worldwide phenomenon finally hits American shores this December, and it’s likely going to hit with the force of a thousand hammers. Based on best-selling novel Men Who Hate Women by Swedish author Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a brutally violent, in-your-face story that centers on troubled young hacker Lisbeth Salander, and her relationship with journalist Mikael Blomkvist, as they investigate the disappearance of a girl that happened 40 years ago. I’ve seen the Swedish movies (they’re fantastic), and although i’m not certain that Rooney Mara will be nearly as good as Noomi Rapace in the role of Lisbeth, I think David Fincher is the best working Director in the world, so I’m seeing this on the night it opens. And if you see it, be warned: it’s hardcore.

Release Date: December 21

 

3. Drive

 

Wow. Ryan Gosling is becoming a force to be reckoned with in the world of film. With Carey Mulligan in an All-Star cast, an acclaimed director, and a look-and-feel that makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up, I think Drive is going to rock our world. Action movies don’t usually win Best Director at Cannes, soooo….yeah. And, once again, a lovely one-sheet. How bout that?

Release Date: September 16

 

4. In Time

 

There’s a lot of bad sci-fi floating around out there, boys and girls, but…I have a hunch that this movie is going to rise above the trappings of the run-of-the-mill. Haters Gonna Hate, to be sure, but JT is great in just about everything he’s in, and this has a really cool idea. It’s directed by the same guy as Gattaca, which is regarded as a modern sci-fi classic. That’s all I need to hear.

Release Date: October 28

 

5. The Ides of March

 

The last movie that George Clooney directed, Goodnight & Good Luck, is fantastic, and like The Ides of March, it dealt with themes of politics, corruption, and the ever-important moral compass. By enlisting the help of a small army of great actors, including the ever-present Ryan Gosling, Clooney has probably got a bonafide hit on his hands, not to mention an Oscar front-runner. Sign me up. And…cool poster.

Release Date: October 7

 

6. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

 

Gary Oldman. Colin Firth. Tom Hardy. Others. A guy on the Youtube page for the trailer reenacted director Thomas Alfredson’s meeting with his casting director:

Alfredson: Get me everyone.

Casting Agent: What do you mean, everyone?

Alfedson: EEEEVVVVVEERRYONNNE!

Centering on a retired MI-6 agent who comes out of retirement to ferret out a suspected Soviet spy, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy appears to be espionage at its best. Despite its clunky name, i’m predicting a mix between The Departed, Munich, and The Good Shepherd, which would be good. Best of all, the word on the streets is that Gary Oldman is finally going to get what he deserves: an Academy Award.

Release Date: November 18

 

7. The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn

 

I really have no idea what this movie is about, but apparently the “Tintin” was an old pulp novel that was popular many decades ago, and was near and dear to Steven Speilberg’s and Peter Jackson’s hearts. The story apparently centers on a young ginger, possibly named Tintin, as he…travels the world and gets into trouble? I’m not sure, but with Spielberg behind the wheel, I’m down. I just hope it isn’t a sloppy mess like his last movie…(Indiana Jones 4, duh)

Release Date: December 23

8. Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol

 

Listen, i know…i know. But, I had to. Let’s get down to specifics. Is Tom Cruise crazy? Yes. Is that poster fan-made? Probably. Does the Eminem song in the trailer seem out of place? Yes. But…is there a certain level of prestige and pedigree here? Yes. Is it Directed by Brad Bird, of Pixar fame? Yes. Is J.J. Abrams producing? Yes. Is Simon Pegg still in it? Yes. Does Jeremy Renner balance out Cruise’s crazy antics? Hopefully. I mean…i’ll see it.

Release Date: December 21

 

9. Immortals

 

There may be some amongst you who are skeptical of this film, but i say do not hold back. If you knew what you were dealing with here, you may have more faith. The director of Immortals is none other than the great and magnificent Tarsem! With films like The Fall and The Cell under his belt, Tarsem has displayed an incredible visual flair and attention to detail that few directors possess. Couple that skill with a tale of Greek Gods being cast down from Olympus, and you’ve got a recipe for awesome. Also, it stars Henry Cavill as Theseus…and if you didn’t know, Cavil will be playing Superman in Zack Snyder’s 2012 film, Man of Steel.

Release Date: November 11

 

10. The Thing

 

The Thing (1982) is a really, really cool sci-fi horror film that is set in Antarctica, and even if you’re not a fan of Horror, I suggest you watch it…it’s not really that horrifying. It’s really cool, and focuses on what happens to a small research base when…something…learns how to mimic people. It’s awesome to watch the characters fall apart, and start to distrust each other, and the lengths they go to to prove they’re still human. The 2011 version of The Thing is NOT a remake…rather, it is a prequel set in the days before the 1982 version. It will fit right in with the original, and probably add a lot to the story, which is fine by me. Also, it stars Mary Elizabeth Winstead, whom I have had a major crush in since I saw her in Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.

Release Date: October 14

 

 

So that’s it! My Top 10 Most-Anticipated Films Remaining in 2011. Narrowly missing the cut was Lars Von Trier’s next movie, Melancholia, and Clint Eastwood’s J. Edgar Hoover biopic starring Leonardo Dicaprio, appropriately entitled J. Edgar. I left the Von Trier movie off simply because the title makes me NOT excited about it, and I left the Eastwood film off because basically nothing is known about it at all, with no trailers or posters having been releases.

Did I miss anything? Comments? Questions? Hit me!

8 responses

  1. Dennis

    Moneyball is the only one worth $8.

    The rest of them? Maybe they’ll come up on my Netflix queue, eventually.

    August 8, 2011 at 7:06 am

  2. Haha Dennis, you smug bastard! Hey…guess what tickets cost here in Harrisonburg, VA? $10. Every. Single. One. No student discounts, and there’s only one theater in town. Psh. Ridiculous.

    August 8, 2011 at 7:28 am

    • Dennis

      That is ridiculous. Like you said, everytime someone sees a movie like Thor, they’re telling producers to make more movies like that.

      That’s what you said, right? About Thor?

      Ha!

      How long are you in Harrisonburg?

      August 8, 2011 at 11:30 am

  3. Thor is good. Did you even see it??

    I’ll likely be in Harrisonburg until the 19th, with a brief trip to Texas planned for this friday.

    August 8, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    • Dennis

      No, I didn’t see it. I heard bad things.

      I know. I shouldn’t say anything till I’ve seen it. I’m the worst.

      Will we be privy to a Coots sighting in his trip to Texas?

      August 8, 2011 at 6:54 pm

  4. I likely won’t make it anywhere near DFW, but…i may make an appearance in early September. MAYBE.

    August 8, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  5. David

    Good list. My obsession with movies has diminished somewhat which saddens me greatly so it is nice to see this list and learn more about what is coming out in the near future that I will also not be able to see…..I miss movies.

    August 14, 2011 at 10:54 pm

  6. Pingback: 2011′s Most Anticipated Films – Amendment?? «

Leave a Reply

