Song of the Day – 8/7/2011 – Third Eye Blind

I’ve got a special place in my heart for Third Eye Blind for a lot of different reasons. Their first album was the first album I ever owned (I am very proud of my 12-year-old self’s taste), and their catalogue in general was the soundtrack to the most significant relationship I’ve ever had in my life. Plus, it’s some of the best songwriting ever.

A thousand Julys,
That’s what you are!
And I’d tell you to come back now but we’ve gone too far.
And we’ve burned it out now; I don’t even try,
But I feel you gone; I’ve lost a thousand Julys.

It’s quite simply just great music.

Blue is a great album in its own right, and “1000 Julys” wouldn’t even be considered one of the Top 3 songs on it, and yet, it’s fantastic. That should give you an idea of the greatness.

Enjoy.

Third Eye Blind – 1000 Julys

Garrett…really…give ’em a chance.

One response

  1. David

    I got a whole 15 seconds into that song and had to stop. Just not my thing.

    August 14, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

