The Dwarves!

If you know me, you know that I love Lord of the Rings. I first read the Lord of the Rings when I was in High School, i guess 10 years ago (wow). I finished The Two Towers just before the film version of The Fellowship of the Ring came out in theaters, and I was enamored from the get-go. I blasted through the books, really enjoyed the movies, ran through The Hobbit real quick, and and continued on in my love of LotR. I have read The Silmarillion, i bought The Atlas of Middle Earth, and on my desk right now is a copy of Unfinished Tales. So, you could say I know what I’m talking about when it comes to LotR.

All that being said, you can likely imagine my overwhelming joy when, late last year, Peter Jackson finally agree to direct the film version of The Hobbit. I dearly adore that story, and the fact that it will be brought to the screen for even more fans to enjoy. They’ve taken the story of The Hobbit and broken it into two films, and added some stuff from Unfinished Tales about the White Council and the battle that happens at Dol Guldor. Jesus Christ, I’m a nerd. Anyways, i’m looking forward to the first installment, which comes out next Christmas. They’re filming right now in New Zealand, and this week, they’ve realeased the first images of a few of the Dwarves!

First up, here’s Dori, Ori, and Nori:

And here’s the epic awesomeness of Oin and Gloin:

If you recall, Gloin is actually the father of Gimli, the Dwarf in the LotR movies.

Pretty neat, huh? If you’re trippin (like David Beezy), don’t worry…these were taken in a studio here on Earth, so the lighting and whatnot is a little weird, and they look a tad photoshopped, but I have no doubt that when these guys are tearing shit up at the Battle of Five Armies, they’ll look badass. I love how the Dwarves each have their own look and feel, so they’ll be differentiated. Some of them are brothers or cousins, but many of them have never met, and are from different areas of Middle Earth…different Dwarf tribes, so they each have a different look. I really dig the costumes. There are 13 in total, so this is less than half of them. I can’t wait to see Thorin Oakenshield.

While there are a few gripes I have with the adaptation of LotR, i was very much pleased with them. Peter Jackson kinda bugs me with his occasionally bush-league direction, and i wish the movies were more…sophisticated…but i have no doubt that I’ll love The Hobbit.

Keep an eye peeled for more Dwarves in the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

