Song of the Day – 3/13/2011 – Rihanna

God dang it.

I HATE admitting this, but…this is actually a good song. I have expressed my hatred for Rihanna for many moons, but part of the reason I’ve hated her is because she over-sang every song and exposed her weaknesses as a singer. She doesn’t have a great voice, but she always tries to hit Whitney Houston-type notes. That’s not your game, Rihanna.

This song is a little different though. She stays within her boundaries, and actually does something pretty decent.

They play “What’s My Name” all the damn time on the radio here in DFW, and I hear it all the time at work, and I’ll be damned if I don’t find myself nodding my head and singing to it sometimes. I’ve always said, “A good song is a good song, regardless of genre,” and I don’t wanna be a hypocrite, so here it is. Ugh.

Also, i once had a great time dancing with a girl to this song. I say “dancing,” but what i mean is that she was dancing on me, and i just watched while she sang and looked my in the eyes.

Rihanna – What’s My Name

 

BONUS SONGS:

Hobbie Stuart – What’s My Name

Rihanna – What’s My Name (Brenmar Remix)

One response

  1. Aly

    false. this song truly does suck. Rhianna is the “only girl in the world” who doesn’t even know her own damn name. I promptly change the station whenever I hear this song.

    April 15, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

