Creepin’ at the Lucero Concert

Long ago, i went to High School with a lovely young lady named Laura. She was rather beautiful, with soft skin and hair as volumous as wisps of cumulus. I always flirted with her, trying to build up the courage to ask her out. But, i think she always thought of me as a goofball. Then, one day, before I could ask for her hand in marriage, she moved away. Gone. Out of my life forever.

Or so i thought.

Two years ago, i watched one of my favorite bands, Lucero, play a show at the Stockyards in Fort Worth. I went there with many friends, including Garrett, Dylan Mahanay, Phil Jenkins, and others. Before the show started, we wandered around, sipping beers and shootin’ the shit. And then, out of nowhere, i was tapped on the shoulder.

By Laura.

I knew exactly who she was, from the moment i saw her face. It was an amazing coincidence, running into each other over 4oo miles away from the town where we went to high school, in some dingy little bar. We talked for a few minutes, and caught up on life and everything that had happened since we last saw each other. We shared a mutual appreciation for the sounds of Lucero, and we were delighted to see each other, but nothing more came of it. She was in serious relationship with a guy, and I sorta was too, so nothing crazy happened. We later became Facebook friends, and that was that.

But then something funny happened yesterday.

I logged into Facebook, and on my news feed was an album posted by Laura that was called, “Lucero concert.” I clicked on it, and scrolled through the pictures. There was a great one with her and Ben Nichols, and I thought, “Shoot! Wish I woulda known there was a dang Lucero concert in DFW!” As you can see, she’s still very pretty:

I posted my thoughts on her pic, and she commented back. But, when i went to read her comment, i noticed something incredibly strange in the picture…

OH MY GOD IT’S DYLAN MAHANAY IN THE BACKGROUND OF HIGH SCHOOL LAURA’S PICTURE WITH BEN NICHOLS! What are the chances of that? I looked at the pic, and my eyes drifted to the background and i nearly pooped myself. Not only was i unaware that Lucero was in town, but I was also unaware that Dylan was there. Just standin there, holding his records, waiting to get ’em signed. Haha…what a goof.

And, what a coincidence.

So, Laura, Queen of Coincidences, I hope you had fun, and maybe I’ll see you around again.  😉

EDITOR’S NOTE:

If you’re not aware, Dylan Mahanay is the elder brother of my best friend, Garrett.

One response

  1. Nevin

    Haha! That’s great!

    February 26, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

