Song(s) of the Day – 1/21/2011

I hate that this happens as often as it does, but it happens pretty often.

I come home from work and collapse in my chair, and get lost in a mood so acutely tragic and heartbreaking that i can’t help but just stare at the floor, or out the window at things that are far away. I feel terribly, terribly lonely, and I wonder where all my friends are. I wonder where my family went, and what happened to people i used to know. I wonder why i can’t see the people i love every day.

I start to really wonder what all this stuff is for.

Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Hand Covers Bruise

Thomas Newman – Any Other Name

The first song is from The Social Network soundtrack, and the second song is from the American Beauty soundtrack.

If you’re interested in sampling this feeling, play these songs in a loop, back to back, over and over and over again, and stare out a window at something far away.

One response

  1. Dennis

    I, too, know the feeling.

    “No! I am not Prince Hamlet, nor was meant to be;/
    Am an attendant lord, one that will do/
    To swell a progress, start a scene or two/
    Advise the prince; no doubt, an easy tool,/
    Deferential, glad to be of use,/
    Politic, cautious, and meticulous;/
    Full of high sentence, but a bit obtuse;/
    At times, indeed, almost ridiculous-/
    Almost, at times, the Fool./

    I grow old…I grow old../

    We have lingered in the chambers of the sea/
    By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown/
    Till human voices wake us, and we drown.”

    -T.S. Eliot “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock”

    January 21, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Leave a Reply

