Brandon Coots: Defender of American Intelligence and Worldliness

At my work, i meet a lot of interesting people. A few days ago, i met a guy and his buddy, and I took them on a tour of City Parc. When we returned to the clubhouse, i sat and talked with them for a bit. We became comfortable talking with each other, and they made a reference to their multiculturalism. Having noted that they both spoke with heavy arabic accents, I asked where they were from.

“Saudi Arabia,” they responded.

In conversation with myself and another person working in the office, somehow they mentioned that Americans have no sense of Geography. Refuting this claim, I said, “I know exactly where Saudi Arabia is.” With a lease sitting right in front of him, he said, “alright then, I will sign this lease if you can name all of the countries bordering Saudi Arabia.”

Without hesitation, I began.

He will be moving in on February 1.

I believe the guy said something to the effect of, “Most Americans would never know that!”

You’re welcome, America.

5 responses

  1. Clayton Coots

    His claim frustrates me. I’ve found myself in several situations like those. I often proved them wrong. (not necessarily pertaining to geography) Also, I’ve come to find that the average American is somewhere between two and four years ahead of the average foreigner in terms of general know-how and street smarts. Their naivety is easily exploitable. Yet, I never poke fun at them. Good work, sir.
    P.S. I’m not trying to sound cool or anything. I’m simply saying my pent-up peace while the subject is finally relevant.

    January 12, 2011 at 3:24 am

  2. Nevin

    Good work Coots

    January 12, 2011 at 10:07 pm

  3. Callier Mahanay

    Trumped me! I forgot Oman. (aw man!!)

    January 12, 2011 at 11:07 pm

  4. Haha…that’s funny, Callier. I see what you did there.

    January 13, 2011 at 1:32 am

  5. Valerie

    Great job Coots! Impressed about Bahrain, too! Most people don’t know where or what Bahrain is! Sadly I wouldn’t even have been able to name all of them and I lived in Bahrain for 16 mths! But… I’ve never been good with Geography at all, I can’t even tell you where all our states are located… oops! However, I attribute some of this to the fact that my school curriculum got a little mixed up when I was moving around as a Navy brat. I kinda missed Geography all together!!! SAD!

    January 17, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

