Movie Review – Will Ferrell Flushes Career Down Toilet

In my day, I’ve watched a few movies. Actually, I’ve watched a lot. And out of all of the movies I’ve seen, I can only remember one that made me literally want to be somewhere else.

That was before tonight.

Tonight, I saw the 8:30 showing of the latest Will Ferrell vehicle, The Other Guys, and when I came out of the theater at what seemed like 2425095:00 o’clock, all I wanted was my money and dignity back.

Honestly, I cannot remember a more painfully unfunny “comedy” movie. Why was it unfunny, you ask? Because it had no rhythm, no timing, no chemistry, and no clever jokes. The movie is clearly a parody on the “Buddy Cop” genre, but after Hot Fuzz, do we really need another? Can anyone…even Ferrell and long-time cohort Adam McKay…do a better job?

The answer is a resounding, “Negative, Ghost-Rider.”

Like that Bruce Willis/Tracy Morgan buddy cop movie that spoofs buddy cop movies...except less funny, somehow.

The movie follows perennially-angry NYC cop Terry Hoitz (Marky Markberg) and accountant-turned-detective Allen Gamble (Will Ferrell playing Will Ferrell) as they…what are they doing again? Tracking some investor guy…oh yeah. How exciting. It’s whatever though…The plot of this movie is thrown in the trash can from the beginning, which is OK because, honestly, that’s not why we’re there. We’re there to watch Ferrells antics, of which there are plenty. Problem is…when the entire movie leans on Ferrell like a crutch, but then he doesn’t come through, the whole thing collapses like a house of cards.

Don’t get me wrong here…there are few funny moments here and there…a few chuckles, a few giggles…but it really is the same old stuff you’ve seen before. Same old Will Ferrell. Mark Wahlberg mostly screams cuz he’s angry about some stuff. The writing is stiff and clunky. The editing is horribly distracting, and effectively destroys all timing.

Within 10 mintues, I was thinking, “Don’t care. It’s whatever.” I was mentally checked out, and all I could think was, “Man, Will Ferrell…you are really flushing your career down the toilet.” The crappiest thing is that, because it’s Ferrell, SO many people will see this and love it, and defend it until their deaths. But, to all those people, I say, “Do you remember Land of the Lost? Kicking and Screaming? No, you don’t. Because they were terrible. And so is this. Spend your money on something better, like some beer.

Hi, I'm will Ferrell and I'm fresh out of ideas.

Leave a Reply

